ADDRESS BY PROF. ELIZABETH EKE DURING THE FIRST SOUTH-EAST EDUCATION SUMMIT ORGANIZED BY THE CONSULTATIVE FORUM OF VICE-CHANCELLORS OF SOUTH-EAST UNIVERSITIES (EDUCATION AT THE CROSSROADS IN THE SOUTH-EAST ZONE OF NIGERIA: VALUES, PERCEPTIONS AND NEW DIRECTIONS)

AUTHOR: PROFESSOR ELIZABETH EKE

AFFILIATION: UNIVERSITY OF NIGERIA, NSUKKA     

I feel greatly honoured to be given the opportunity of presenting a keynote address at this Southeast Education Summit. When the Chairman, Conference Organizing Committee, Professor E.O. Akuezuilo, called me on Friday night to urge me to take on the keynote address because the original keynote speaker, Professor Ben Nwabueze would not be able to attend, I virtually panicked. My weekend was already fully booked as I was travelling and I told him I would not know how to put together a paper of this nature in two days! Nevertheless, I am here. It is indeed a privilege to appear before this star-studded audience of chieftains, gurus, leaders, stakeholders, policy makers and consumers of education. In humility, I apologize for the shortcomings in case this hurried keynote address does not meet your expectation and also plead for protection for the feminine gender if, at times, the paper sounds too blunt. We, however, must tell ourselves some home truths.

TO VIEW THE FULL CONTENT OF THIS DOCUMENT, PLEASE VISIT THE UNIZIK LIBRARY WEBSITE USING THIS LINK, http://www.naulibrary.org/dglibrary/admin/book_directory/Addresses/11119.pdf

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

